The governance structure for Northern LGPS consists of an oversight board made up primarily of representatives of the participating funds’ pension committees (please see below) which defines key strategic objectives and provide scrutiny to an executive body of officers who will make the investment management decisions. Both the oversight board and the executive body will work closely with independent advisors.

This structure is designed to maintain democratic accountability for the investment outcomes of each of the participating funds, whilst ensuring all investment decisions are made by individuals with appropriate knowledge and experience.

Councillor Gerald Cooney (Chair)
Gerald is Chair of Greater Manchester Pension Fund, and Executive Leader of Tameside Council. In Tameside, he represents the Droylsden West Ward.

Councillor Oliver Ryan

Oliver is a member of Tameside Council. He represents the Audenshaw ward.

Councillor Pat Cleary

Pat is Chair of the Merseyside Pension Fund Pensions Committee, and a member of Wirral Council. He represents the Birkenhead and Tranmere ward.


Councillor Andrew Thornton

Andrew is Chair of West Yorkshire Pension Fund and a member of Bradford Council. He represents the Royds ward.

Councillor Cherry Povall, JP
Cherry is Vice-Chair of the Merseyside Pension Fund Pensions Committee, and a member of Wirral Council. She represents the Clatterbridge ward.
Liz Bailey
Liz is the Deputy Chair of West Yorkshire Pension Fund Pensions Committee.